Bain, Tyler highlight NAIA All-Nebraska team

Bain, Tyler highlight NAIA All-Nebraska team
Bellevue teammates selected as captains - Omaha World-Herald

OMAHA, Neb. -- Seniors Eugene Bain and Avery Tyler were named co-captains of the All-Nebraska NAIA Men's Basketball Team announced by the Omaha World-Herald on Wednesday, April 20.

Bain, a transfer from the University of Nebraska at Omaha, led the Bruins in scoring and rebounding, averaging 14.9 points and 8.9 rebounds per game. He also paced BU with 12 double-doubles.

Despite missing 10 games due to injury, Tyler finished second on the team in scoring, averaging 12.5 points, 4.0 rebounds and 3.0 assists a game.

Ousseynou Diop and Jelani Johnson each earned honorable mention. Diop led NAIA Division II in total blocks (133) and blocks per game (3.9) while averaging 8.5 points and 7.8 rebounds per contest. Johnson finished first in the MCAC with 123 assists and led the Bruins with 49 steals. He was also third on the team in scoring, with 10.2 points per game.

Bellevue finished the season with an overall record of 28-6 and advanced to NAIA Division II National Tournament for the ninth straight time.

All-Nebraska NAIA Men's Basketball Team
First Team
G Avery Tyler Bellevue Sr. 12.5
G Nick Reed Doane Fr. 16.2
F Eugene Bain Bellevue Sr. 14.9
F Corey Standerfer York Sr. 18.8
F Derek Fletcher Hastings Sr. 15.0

Second Team
G Tyler Byrd Concordia Jr. 13.0
G Derrick Williams Peru State So. 17.7
F Sam Huebner Concordia Sr. 14.0
F Zach Rosenboom Midland Jr. 11.9
F Bryce Arp Nebraska Wesleyan Jr. 11.5

• Honorary captains: Avery Tyler, Eugene Bain, Bellevue

• Honorable mention: Ousseynou Diop, Jelani Johnson, Bellevue; Porter Birtell, Ryan Shrum, Concordia; Jake Johnson, Josh Riser, Doane; Tobin Reinwald, Hastings; Alex Knobbe, Marcus Messersmith, Midland; Nick Dinan, Nebraska Wesleyan; Jovan Hitch, Peru State; Dee Ellison, Gary Matthews, Desmond Strickland, York.